Magdalene Aubergine is Alive!

Magdalene Aubergine is now available for purchase. One of the pieces in the book is “Spaghetti Jesus,” a ramble the title of which was prompted by a billboard that I could see from my bedroom window for a while a long time ago. At the time I remember thinking, “That looks like… Nah. You’re slippin’ kid.” But come to find however long after, plenty of other people, across the country over the course of however long the ad-campaign was, they saw it too. So now this book is completed, it was an intense write, a labor of love. Not to be corny, but I “found myself” again in the process of composing this book. The cover design was inspired by the idea of a passport, Magdalene Aubergine’s passport back to the world out there, and that’s a little bit of a take-off on a Joan Didion quote, from “Slouching Toward Bethlehem.”Β  “See enough and write it down, I tell myself, and then some morning when the world seems drained of wonder, someday when I am only going through the motions of what I am supposed to do, on that bankrupt morning I will simply open my notebook and there it will all be, a forgotten account with accumulated interest, paid passage back to the world out there.” – Joan Didion. These pieces were culled and curated from notebooks, from webpage posts, from stories I’d written and set aside and found again.
I don’t know what is next writing-wise, if anything for a while. I have plenty of editing and organizing work to keep me busy, but I don’t know what the next book will be or when. If you decide to get yourself a copy of this book, Magdalene Aubergine, I sure hope you enjoy it. If you care to follow along on my “imagery and poetry” page, here’s the link to there. ( or you can click on the butterfly gif in the sidebar.)

Sincerely, Teri Skultety



“Magdalene Aubergine is the name she assumed after she moved to Paris.”
In this eighty-five piece collection of poetry, fiction, personal non-fiction and essays, themes of love, devastation, sin, passion, judgment, and redemption are explored on a journey of strength, resilience, and acceptance of self.Β  Available now on Amazon.
You may read these pieces here:
Lionel Ritchie
The Road
Beginner’s Luck
The Red (Roses)
My Roots
Dear Lover
Psalm of the Beautiful Dream
The Daring Muse
The Art of Distraction
In the Darkness Deep
All the Bright Young Things at the Last Picture Show
A Kindness
I’ve Planted Roses